ONT 1: 24 in 48 Read-a-thon

So I have decided to make a new section of my blog called “Other New Things,” very original name right? lol Well the purpose of this section is this… Despite my awesome and exciting list, there are going to be other new things that I experience in the year that I want to document as well so the ONT category/tag is going to be for these such experiences.

So first up… 24 in 48 Read-a-thon. I recently created a teacher instagram account and I was scrolling through it when I stumbled upon this reading challenge that started at midnight (it was 12:15amish when I found out). Initially I thought you had to read 24 books in 48 hours which is just absurd lol. But after looking into it more carefully I realized  that the idea is that in a 48 hour time period you are reading for 24 hours.

As an avid reader this sounded like a great idea so I signed up right away! I got two hours in before bed. It was going great. The next day I woke up and on IG people were talking about being on hour 6 or something like that and I was like WHAT?! So I got to work. I finished one book ( I was already in the middle of it) and started my second book. I had snacks, good music. I even went to the gym and read on the treadmill. It was great! until hour 8. Have you ever read for like 6 hours straight knowing that you have to read another six hours without stopping in order to reach your goal of half finishing the challenge before you go to bed? No? Well it was quite a daunting thought.  But I tried my best and then…. around 10.5 hours I couldn’t do it any more.  So I went to sleep knowing that I would have to wake up and hit the ground running because I had to read 14 hours the next day in order to finish.

So the next morning I woke up and looked at the clock and it was 10am. and so ended my 24 in 48 challenge. Why? Well if I read for 14 hours straight I wouldn’t finish until 2am the following day which would be after the challenge already ended. So at that point I decided to stop reading because I knew that there was no way I would finish. Under normal circumstances I wouldn’t just give up like that, I would see how far I could get but I had a few places to go and things to do so I decided not to force it.

So what came of this whole experience?
I definitely want to try again but it would probably be good to plan before hand. So making sure I don’t have plans that weekend, having a set of lovely snacks, that kinda stuff. I think I would also take a late nap that day so I could stay up reading all night. I would also probably want to very carefully select the books that I read for the challenge. With the right books it probably would be a piece of cake. So maybe I’ll have better luck next time!

Leave a Reply

